Building a Brighter Future for Scotland

Bank of Scotland Foundation is an independent charity, solely funded by Lloyds Banking Group as part of its commitment to Helping Britain Prosper.

We receive an annual donation from the Group which we then distribute to charities across Scotland through our grant programmes and Matched Giving programme.

Thanks to this generous support, we have been making a significant impact on Scotland's most vulnerable communities since 2010.

Through our Grant Programmes and Matched Giving Programme for Lloyds Banking Group colleagues in Scotland, we've provided almost £37 million of funding to over 2,600 charities enabling over 1.5 million people to access much needed local services and personal support.

As our 2019-2023 strategy concluded, we took the opportunity to reflect on the challenges faced by charities and how we could further assist them in supporting their communities.

We're thrilled to now embark on a new five year journey, as we strive to make an even greater difference and build a brighter future for Scotland.

Building a brighter future for Scotland
Since we launched in
2010 ...
in total to charities
Awarded over
Matched Giving
Supported over
Supported over
  • Building a brighter future for Scotland
  • Announcing 3 new grants programmes
  • Empower
  • Energise
  • Enable
  • Man On! Inverclyde
  • Since we launched in 2010
  • Dance Base
  • Ubuntu Women Shelter

Our Staff

Jillian Baillie  
Chief Executive    

Lorraine O’Neill  
Chief Financial Officer

Leona Macdonald  
Grant Manager

Zoe Redhead  
Community Manager

Melissa Lally  
Matched Giving Manager

Owen Falconer  
Grant Programme Officer

Our Trustees

Donald MacKechnie (Foundation Chair and Trustee)Donald MacKechnie  
(Foundation Chair and Trustee)  
Insurance & Wealth Transformation and Strategy Director  
Lloyds Banking Group
Graham Blair (Trustee)Graham Blair  
Head of Mortgages  
Bank of Scotland Retail, Lloyds Banking Group
Alison Macdonald (Trustee)Alison Macdonald  
Director, Business Risk & Financial Crime  
Insurance & Wealth Division, Lloyds Banking Group
Graeme Thompson (Trustee)Graeme Thompson  
Executive Coach, Vistage
Laura ArmstrongLaura Armstrong  
Operations Lead, Group Transformation  
Lloyds Banking Group
Karen Watt (Trustee)Karen Watt  
Chief Executive  
Scottish Funding Council for Further and Higher Education
Julianne Reddin (Trustee)Julianne Reddin  
Senior Manager - Strategy and Innovation  
Climate Group
Jackie Leiper (Trustee)Jackie Leiper  
Managing Director  
Pensions, Distribution & Stockbroking  
Lloyds Banking Group
Ken McIntosh (Trustee)Ken MacIntosh  
Former Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament
Jon Alexander (Trustee)Jon Alexander  
General Counsel  
Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets

Bank of Scotland Foundation
is proud to be a member of:

The national membership organisation for the voluntary sector aiming to support, promote and develop a confident, sustainable voluntary sector in Scotland.
Set up in 1993 (with now 45 members) to share best practice in grantmaking to promote the voluntary sector and the effectiveness of charities.
Described as a Funders’ Collaborative Hub, the forum promotes good and effective funding practice and sharing learning about funding practice.
The leading membership association for foundations and independent grantmakers in the UK aiming to strengthen trusts and foundations to ‘rise to the challenges of our times.’
A membership organisation of over 750 voluntary sector Chief Executives and senior leaders across Scotland, all committed to the vision of: 'Excellent Voluntary Sector Leadership in Scotland.'